Certificate Renewal Is Painful

I can't believe the rates on savings and certificate of deposits.

And things aren't looking any better for a long time to come. Those of us who elected to rent or share expenses living with someone instead of buying a house, thereby saving a little for the future are being punished by the housing crisis with insanely low rates.

Of course I know I'm losing money because of inflation, but where would a gal park it? Stocks or bonds?
The fluctuation is scary, too high risk for a woman like me.

Real estate? I'm told a person can get a hellva deal right now. But wait, that's what I want to avoid. Owning means dealing with things that break, roofs that leak, insurances against flood, flame and famine. Well, flood, and flame.

Ok, then, does a person invest in overseas shit. I think not. When they go under, who's gonna guarantee the investment.?

No, I'm not gonna go buy a couple sticks of gold, for one reason, I think its the next bubble to burst.

The best investment is actual food. The price is going up way faster than anything else, and a person will always need it. Just rotate it, and don't let it spoil. That would be money down the toilet.

So, I guess I'll stick with my home town bank, the FDIC insured stuff, and hope to see better days.

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

0 comments:

Post a Comment